Unreal Nature

June 18, 2017

Aesthetic Reception and Consummation

Filed under: Uncategorized — unrealnature @ 5:38 am

… in order to enrich being, this act must be totally above given being.

Continuing through the essay ‘Author and Hero in Aesthetic Activity’ in Art and Answerability: Early Philosophical Essays by M.M. Bakhtin edited by Michael Holquist and Vadim Liapunov (1990):

… A pure creative activity, proceeding from within myself, begins at the point where anything present-on-hand in me axiologically ends, where in me all being as such ends. To the extent that I actively find and become aware of something as given and present-at-hand or determinate, I am already above it in my act of determining (and to this extent the determination of what has value is above it with respect to value). Therein consists my architectonic privilege: in proceeding from within myself, I find a world outside myself — myself as the one proceeding in the act.

Hence, only I, while situated outside given being, can receive and consummate that being independently of meaning. This is an absolutely productive or “gainful” act of my self-activity. But in order to be really productive, in order to enrich being, this act must be totally above given being. I must withdraw all of myself axiologically from being, so that nothing of myself and of what is mine that has value to me myself would remain in the being which is subjected to the act of aesthetic reception and consummation.

… Insofar as I participate in the world of otherness in a justified manner, I may become passively active in that world. A luminous image of such passive activity is the dance. In dancing, my exterior, visible only to others and existing only for others, coalesces with my inner, self-feeling, organic activity. In dancing, everything inward in me strives to come to the outside, strives to coincide with my exterior. … The moment of being-swayeed, of being-possessed by being is manifestly experienced in dancing.

My most recent previous post from Bakhtin’s book is here.

-Julie

http://www.unrealnature.com/

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

