Unreal Nature

September 28, 2016

With My Remaining Eye

Filed under: Uncategorized — unrealnature @ 5:56 am

… wipe the blood off, polish it with an oil-stained black cloth until it shines, and display it on the dark drawing-room table.

This is from the essay ‘Four Scenes of Hell I Saw Outside the Theater’ by Terayama Shūji [1968] found in Provoke: Between Protest and Performance: Photography in Japan 1960-1975 edited by Diane Dufour, Duncan Forbes, Walter Moser, and Matthew S. Witkovsky (2016):

[ … ]

The Third Song: Eyeball Repairer’s Phantom Crime

According to the eyeball repairer, the two eyes of human beings serve different purposes. One theory states that one eye looks at other individuals, while the other looks at the self. Another theory stipulates that one eye “discovers” while the other eye “abandons.”

Anyhow, if you find that the two eyes are imbalanced, you must scoop one of them out with a sickle. Then, for the eye that “discovers” the self, it is good to wipe the blood off, polish it with an oil-stained black cloth until it shines, and display it on the dark drawing-room table. I will keep on abandoning the world with my remaining eye, and maybe travel to Siberia. The one eye I’m left with will gaze at people endlessly in order to abandon them, and on the boundless clouds of the sunset in people’s hometowns.

It will count the number of swallows that are flying by, as I rest with my eye closed.

Amidst the comfort of a new darkness

A gentle, blindfolded era goes by … .

My vision will become that of a hawk, glancing at the horizon, at faraway winter fields. But the horizon of my imagination is vast and cold. I cannot spot the practitioner, and because of that the punishment still awaits!

My most recent previous post from this book is here.

-Julie

http://www.unrealnature.com/

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

