Unreal Nature

October 1, 2015

What Was That?

Filed under: Uncategorized — unrealnature @ 5:56 am

This is from the author’s interview with Robert Gardner in Avant-Doc: Intersections of Documentary and Avant-Garde Cinema by Scott MacDonald (2015):

[ … ]

Gardner: … when film does teach, it doesn’t do it because the filmmaker means to, it does it because it can’t help it.

[ … ]

Gardner: During the years when I was involved with Channel 5 and Screening Room, I suggested to the station manager that we do some non-commercials. I told him, “We have lots of commercials by why don’t we try having non-commercials? That is to say something that lasts just a minute but doesn’t sell anything!” I remember the blank stare I got, but in the end I was allowed to make a few. “Policeman” was one which aired, and people must have been very perplexed by it; there were calls to the station, asking “What was that?”

-Julie

http://www.unrealnature.com/

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

