Unreal Nature

July 8, 2015

I Hear the Leaves and Love the Light

Filed under: Uncategorized — unrealnature @ 7:02 am

… I think her memory of that sound helped her all her life.

This is from an interview with the photographer in Cottonwoods: Photographs by Robert Adams (1994):

[ … ]

When did you decide that you were a photographer?

You mean when did I feel I could stop apologizing for doing it? Probably when I was fortunate enough to sell prints to the Museum of Modern Art and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. I still remember the day I got the letter from the Modern. I remember standing on a hill in Colorado Springs, with the letter in my pocket, enjoying the view all the way south a hundred miles to the Spanish Peaks. I’d bought a doughnut, and it was the best doughnut I ever ate.

[ … ]

What projects are you working on now?

I’m completing a book about the mouth of the Columbia River. And a photo essay about our dog, Sally, and her enjoyment of the back yard. It’s going to be entitled I Hear the Leaves and Love the Light.

[ … ]

Willa Cather wrote in the Song of the Lark, which is set on the Colorado plains, that cottonwoods are “wind-loving trees … whose roots are always seeking water and whose leaves are always talking about it, making the sound of rain.” That seems an especially beautiful way of describing their promise.

I think her memory of that sound helped her all her life.

[ … ]

I’m interested in craft to the extent that it allows me to be clear about the subject. I do often adjust exposure with development, though not as precisely as did Ansel Adams. I admired him, incidentally. He cared, he was generous, and he admitted to having a good time. He also made some pictures by which we all judge our efforts.

Adams_Cottonwoods

-Julie

http://www.unrealnature.com/

 

Blog at WordPress.com.

